Board of Directors

The HCAP Board of Directors is the governing body of the organization, responsible for oversight of all agency affairs. HCAPʻ’s Board of Directors is tripartite: one-third of the members represent the Public sector, one-third of the members represent the Private sector, and one-third of the members represent the Resident sector.

This unique Board structure allows all voices in the community to be represented, in order to help HCAP deliver the best programs and services possible to the communities we serve.

2023-2024 Board of Directors


Edward Mersereau, Chair
Terrence H. Aratani, Esq., Vice Chair
William Shiroma, Secretary/Treasurer


Terrence H. Aratani, Office of Senator Henry J.C. Aquino

Frank J. Lopez, Governor’s Representative
Colleen E. Minami, Mayor’s Representative
Sen. Glenn Wakai., Office of Senator Glenn Wakai
Blake K. Oshiro, Esq., Office of Council Member Calvin K.Y. Say
Rep. Linda Ichiyama, Esq., Office of Representative Linda Ichiyama
Rep. Mark J. Hashem, Office of Representative Mark J. Hashem


Edward Mersereau, Central District Advisory Council

Kaylee Kalamau, Head Start Policy Council
Lillian Segal, Central District Advisory Council
Shanice Tavita Kalihi-Palama District Advisory Council
Anne Chipchase, Leahi District Advisory Council
Candy Matautia, Leeward District Advisory Council
Kalae Kukahiko Windward District Advisory Council


William Shiroma, Bank of Hawaiʻi

Roxanne U. Bolden, Aloha Independent Living Hawaii
Sheri Arima, Hawaiʻi Department of Education
Joanna Markle, Hawaiian Electric Company
Mani Sehgal, Hawaii Pacific University
Donald Aweau, Kilinaʻi Consulting
Elmer K. Kaai, Native Hawaiian Chamber of Commerce